Day 10 – Pumpkin/Chocolate Chili Recipe

One of my favorite versions of chili is with added cocoa.  But lately since I haven’t been able to have tomatoes I have been wanting to experiment with using pumpkin instead.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp coconut oil (I like the taste of virgin oil here)
  • 1 large red onion, diced into chunks
  • 3 teaspoon garlic (4 or 5 cloves)
  • 2 lbs ground beef (I like to add  2 “icecubes” of defrosted liver I grind up myself)
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tbsp cumin
  • 1 1/2 tbsp 100% cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp all spice
  • 1 tsp salt (I use Himalayan salt)
  • 1 tsp dried oregano (crushed up)
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree (replacing tomato paste)
  • 2 zucchini, chopped up into cubes (replacing chopped tomatoes)
  • 2 cups homemade broth (beef tastes best but chicken works too)
  • 1 cup filtered water

Instructions:

  1. Melt Coconut Oil in stock pot or dutch oven.
  2. Throw in onions and cook until they do that translucent thing (5-8 min)
  3. Add garlic, stirring for about 30 sec
  4. Add the ground beef, cook until there is no pink left
  5. In a small bowl add all your spices and mix them together well (you can make this in bulk to always have on hand to make this yummy chili)
  6. Once beef is cooked add your spice mix and stir until all the beef and onions are coated.
  7. Add pumpkin puree, broth and water
  8. Stir until everything is mixed together
  9. Place lid on top and let it simmer for 2 hours or more.
  10. 30 min before serving if you may feel like you want to reduce it down a bit (if it’s too liquidy)  If so, just remove lid turn the heat up slightly and let the water/steam escape to make it a thicker chili.
2 thoughts on “Day 10 – Pumpkin/Chocolate Chili Recipe

    • It turned out amazing! I’m now stocking up on boxes of organic pumpkin to keep in my cupboards to always have on hand like I do with tomato paste. Just yesterday I made a Shepard’s Pie and instead of tomato paste I used my pumpkin instead. It really helps to still add the bulk the recipe needs, but never actually tastes like pumpkin.

Leave a Reply

